Favorite Things (Insert Cheering)

I know we are all in need of new inspiration when it comes to healthy living. I need fresh workouts. I need incentives to clean up my diet. I need to feed off of the inspiration of others when my motivation is low. Here are a few that I have found recently for all of you out there that are looking for something new:

A Healthy Recipe I love a crockpot! Anything you can throw in a pot, walk away from and have a healthy meal is my best friend. If you don’t have a crockpot, get one. This is a great tool for busy women, moms, and anyone who wants to eat healthy, home cooked meals but doesn’t have the time and energy to do it. So here is one you are going to LOVE!

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast (I like the thinly sliced ones)
  • 1 jar of salsa
  • 1 packet of taco seasoning
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 can black beans

Directions:

Throw it all in the crock- chicken, then seasoning, then everything else. Set on low and cook for 6-8 hours

That’s it! And let me tell you… YUM! You can serve with other goodies if you would like. We threw ours over brown rice. You can top with some light sour cream, plain greek yogurt, or a little sprinkle of cheese. So easy, so yummy, and so healthy! I love that you can cook for 8 hours so that you can throw it together before work and come home to a meal.

The Green Drink I am always looking for new recipes to make a green drink.  I have found with juicing, I have overcomplicated things. I had fun seeing how many varietals you could put together. Here’s what I learned from that A) It gets expensive B) it usually looks and tastes fairly unappetizing C)I would lose motivation and put the juicer away. Juicing should be simple so you don’t find it a daily hassle. So here is my new favorite green drink: 1 cup of spinach, 3 stalks of kale, 2 apples, wheat grass and 8 ounces of water. Blend and serve. It tastes good and adds amazing nourishment before I have even left my house.

A New Workout For those of you who can go to the same gym day in and out, year after year and no need to switch it up, I commend you. But for the rest of us, we need regular change. Sometimes that can be satisfied with new music or clothes. Other times it is trying a class or working out with a friend. Well, I often like a change of scenery and a change of intensity. Maybe more importantly, I like someone who can connect with me, someone who can tap into my psyche with messages of empowerment that causes me to push my body to new depths. HEAT is a new fitness studio in downtown Raleigh. They offer interval style training in a group setting. The facility is gorgeous. Overall it is an amazing concept! I have taken several of the classes but one instructor deserves some serious credit- Brandon. Not only does he deliver over-the-top intensity (in a good way), but then he couples it with inspiration and education. He ties in the mind/body aspect to fitness, and he does it well. I have only taken Brandon’s cycle class (on Real Ryder bikes… mmhhmm. Awesome!) but he also offers an interval class (signature HEAT class) that I am excited to check out this week. There are so many factors that make a successful workout and the instructor is a big one! Anyone can stand in front of you and demonstrate exercises with pop music. Not everyone can build a trusting relationship so that you know you can show up and leave feeling better mentally and physically.

We all want to live happy, healthy, and productive lives. Doing this, requires regular participation, not just in the activity itself, but in keeping the activity exciting. Hmmm… that sounds a lot like a marriage too.

Leave a Reply

