Balancing the Wants vs the Needs

It is Friday! And while that usually creates some excitement for many people, I am finding myself irritable with my plans, or lack thereof for the weekend. I try to balance my weekend with a small list of chores, a good workout, and some time for fun and/or relaxation. Well, on the agenda for this weekend is just chores. Boooooo!

We have both been busy bees lately and so many of the weekly tasks around the home front have been neglected. I should take a picture of my messy dining room table where I am right now, but I don’t need that kind of shameful exposure. So clean house, grocery shop, laundry, bathe the dogs is on the task list. I also plan to get a run in and hopefully our Sunday morning hike. However, that is about it. I am honeyless in the evenings which is an excellent time for a GNO (Girls’ Night Out) but each plan I have made has fallen through. All of this is leaving my weekend with more “needs” than “wants.” Ugh.

Keeping life in balance is also about balance those things that we want to do with those things that we need to do. If you find that you are always doing those things that you need to do and rarely doing anything that you want to do then life will seem unfulfilling, fast. But, on the contrary, if your life is only filled with those things you want to do, then you are going to feel unorganized and overwhelmed. Keeping a balance of these on a weekly basis will lead to a more fulfilling and productive life.

So… who wants to bathe the rottweiler while I go get a Mani/Pedi?

Leave a Reply

