Patience: My Self-admitted Biggest Weakness

I read once that patience was a form of wisdom. And then I became impatient with myself for not being more wise, not having more patience. When I began graduate school, I wanted to know everything about counseling. I have become frustrated with myself at the gym or in yoga when my performance wasn’t at a standard that I had set for myself.

I realized my lack of patience some years ago and have been trying hard to grow, but still struggle. My struggle with patience is not so much with the crying child, inefficient bank teller, or the person that cuts me off in the road. Oh, no. My patience is usually with myself and the eagerness for all of my cosmos to aline. It is for the grandiose to be achieved. And achieved NOW! Once I have set my sights on something, I must have it. Tolerating the process can be very uncomfortable to me. 

Practicing patience- patience with the crying child, patience with our learning curves, and patience with our emotions- will lead us to a greater sense of well-being. It is a lesson in Mindfulness. Reflect on your own areas of impatience. Can you see where impatience may interfere with the quality of your relationships? What about with your own aspirations? I think that when many of us think of someone that we admire, someone with wisdom and leadership, we notice their poise and ability to be patient. They are patient with individuals and patient with the process.

How would practicing this skill decrease stress, tension, and subsequent negative emotions in your life?

One thought on “Patience: My Self-admitted Biggest Weakness

  1. I definitely recognize the same quality in myself! I feel especially impatient when I achieve something once but can’t achieve the same level again. I actually wrote a post about it here; you might find it relevant 🙂 -Cristina

Leave a Reply

