Overhauling the Refrigerator

It is not uncommon for me to say, “A clean home aids in a clear mind.” I am a big fan of organization and cleanliness. When my home, my car, or my office feel unorganized, I can definitely feel my stress level increasing specific to those areas. So, I suppose that it was weird that I hadn’t realized that the same principle would apply so deeply to my refrigerator.

As most of you already know, I think about food a lot. I plan, prepare, shop, research, and often scrutinize what I am eating. I wouldn’t say that my food areas are a disaster, but just like anyone, the mess and disorganization can add up. Over the past few weeks, I could see that the fridge was getting bad. I started with throwing out all of the expired bottles but knew that it needed a scrub-down. So, after our camping trip last week, while it was still a bit barren, I did just that. I took everything out and scoured the sucker. Then, I carefully replaced everything, made my grocery list and went about my week.

I felt a major change all week. Every time I opened my refrigerator, I felt good about what was in it. It looked fresh and tasty. I was excited to prepare it and eat it. I felt less desire to reach for comfort food. I didn’t even have any ice cream or dessert all week. The shine and good light, allowed me to really see what was in there and not get lost among the clutter. I felt like a little kid, fascinated by one toy, rather than bored by the toy box.

I often do pantry or fridge clean-outs, tossing the stuff that is no good or no good for you. However, I have never simplified it so much. I think that sometimes I do the opposite. I may over-stock so that we have plenty of good options. I think that I am a changed woman after this week. A nice fridge scrub-down will probably get added to my weekly chore list. This way, I know everything that is in my kitchen and in my diet. Just another tier in mindful eating.

Leave a Reply

