All Supplements are NOT Created Equal

Dietary supplements might be one of the most confusing parts of the already confusing world of nutrition. I am no exception. I have been very inconsistent with supplements over the years due to lack of understanding. However, I would always try again because of the recommendations in fitness, nutrition, and healthcare. Every few months, I would choke down a new protein powder or attempt consistency with a multivitamin. This would be my pattern until I have finally learned the secret to supplements. They aren’t created equal!

The FDA does not regulate supplements. So, your fish oil, for example, may say fish oil, may even contain fish oil, but the quality of the fish oil or the ratio of fish oil to “filler” may not be disclosed. This drastically impacts your results from your supplements, and therefore, the drive an motivation to keep taking them (and keep buying them)! Fish oil test: Put your fish oil in the freezer. If it freezes, then there are more fillers than oils.

Dietary supplements are essential to a healthy, balanced diet. I thought for a few years that I could get all of my essential nutrients from my food. But that just wasn’t so. I ended up putting on about 12 lbs in an effort to consume the necessary amount of protein, fiber, calcium, and whatever was being encouraged in my reading. Again, I revisited supplements.

Without a doubt, the Herbalife Supplement lines are incredible. The more I learn about the quality of the products, the more I love. There is incredible science between each product, with each ingredient included with intention, and each combination paired for incredible results. Just as I always recommend finding a healthy diet program that works for you, whether that be counting calories, reducing animal products, or eliminating processed carbs. And while I absolutely love Herbalife, I will advocate for finding quality supplements that are great for you (but I will dare you to find better).

Learn nutrition once and for all in a Weight Loss Challenge!

Leave a Reply

